Heart Chakra Practices for the New Moon

On February 15th we are given an opening to enter a season of growth and change.  A New Moon in Aquarius; she awaits us.

crystals rose quartz new moon intentions

Light seeps through the afternoon window with a longer edge, pushing into the cool February night.  A yearning for spring overtakes.  Faint hints of a new season are blooming.   

~ Lily Dickinson

The New Moon in February invites us, renewing our spirit with unconditional love.   We let go of misplaced intentions that came before this moment.  We birth anew.  We align ourselves with the actions of unconditional love, and look towards removing all blocks in our path.  The darkness of the February night is no match for the light of love. 

Love casts out fear.   

All is possible when only love exists. 

If you cannot see God (love) in all, you cannot see God (love) at all  ~ Yogi Bhajan (paraphrased)

Our life experience is a reflection of our thoughts.  It is each of our thoughts, one by one, that create our reality.  When you choose love over fear you change your experience of the world.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata) is the fourth energetic center of our subtle body.  It is a connection between our physical (lower) and spiritual (higher) chakras.  When deficient or out of balance we may feel withdrawn, judgmental, depressed. We may act out in fear or jealousy and have porous boundaries allowing for the inflow of toxic energy from others. 

When our heart chakra lives in balance, we are open to receiving love and giving love.  We accept ourselves and others as they are.  We allow ourselves grace and compassion.  We have boundaries that keep our physical and spiritual body in a state of balance. 


2018-02-15 10.05.50 1.jpg

The tools below can help to strengthen and explore the state of our Heart Chakra during this New Moon and for the next 28 days until the next phase of the New Moon.

Energetic color


Yoga poses to add to your practice to open your heart center

Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

Urdvha Mukha Svanasana (Upward-Facing Dog)

Ustrasana (Camel Pose)

Dhanurasana (Bow Pose)

Urdhva Dhanurasana (Upward Bow, Wheel Pose)


I see only love

I accept myself as I am

Prayers and Affirmations

I see only love

I am open to receiving and giving love

I accept others as they are

I give myself grace and compassion

I accept myself as I am

I have clear boundaries around my physical and spiritual body

I see abundance everywhere

Love flows through me


Crystals, Stones and Oils to help balance and open the Heart Chakra

Stones and Crystals to help balance and open the Heart Chakra

Malachite, Rose Quartz

Rose quartz is a stone of love. Place an intention on rose quartz of unconditional love, balance and abundance. 

Malachite is a stone of change. Place an intention on malachite of acceptance, non-judgement, non-attachment and protection.   

When holding a crystal or stone, or when in the presence of the stone, recall these intentions and allow for the energetic vibration of the stone to pull you back to your true self.

Use: intention setting; keep close to body; place in work-space and surroundings


Oils to help balance and open the Heart Chakra

Cedarwood, chamomile, frankincense, ginger, grapefruit, jasmine, lime, mandarin, orange, rose, oregano, rosewood, patchouli, spruce, tea tree, thyme

Use: create blends for aromatic or topical use. Roll over heart center, diffuse into surroundings to restore balance to your heart center 


Heart Chakra Tarot Spread New Moon .jpg

Tarot Spread to Explore the Heart Chakra

1.       What in my past is blocking me from unconditional love?

2.       Where in my life do I need more balance?

3.       What boundaries are leaving me open to pain?

4.       How can I provide more love to myself?

5.       How can I provide more love to others?

6.       What change can I put into motion to manifest greater abundance?

Lily Dickinson